Elbert County is located on the border of Georgia and South Carolina and has a population of over 20,000. Elbert County comprises the communities of Bowman, a small city with a population of just under 900, and Elberton, the largest city in the county with 4,700.

The county was established in 1790 when it divided from next-door Wilkes County. Elbert County is just under 400 square miles. Elbert County is known as the industrial hub of Northeast Georgia and is home to several lakes and natural areas. A major producer of granite, Elbert County enjoys a flourishing economy.